Save on Family Finder, Y-DNA, and mtDNA During Our Annual Summer Sale! Now through August 31st.

Georgetown District

  • 165 members

About us

The Georgetown District of South Carolina was established in 1769, and it extended from the North Carolina line to the Santee River. The Cheraws District and the Camden District formed the western border of the Georgetown District. By 1800, these Districts started separating into counties, and old Georgetown District is today the counties of Horry, Georgetown, Williamsburg, Marion, Dillon, and the eastern half of Florence. The 1790 South Carolina census for the Georgetown District includes all of these counties. There were many surnames in this area that were spelled the same or similarly. Due to the loss of so many of the older records, it's hard to know which of those surnames were of the same family. It is the hope of this project to sort out the various surnames and establish which ones shared a common ancestor. Anyone believing they had ancestors in this area before the Civil War is invited to join.