This page only applies to you if you have joined a FamilyTreeDNA Group Project. If you have not joined a project, your Project Preferences page will be blank.

The Project Preferences page is where you can set the access levels for your Group Administrators and Co-Administrators. These access levels determine which of your account and DNA information a Group Administrator can view and in some cases, modify. You can also use the options on this page to leave a Group Project.

Please note that, in this topic, all references to Group Administrator and administrator include Group Co-Administrator.

Group Administrator and Member Preferences Page

Click image for a closer look.

Where is my Project Preferences page?

To access your Project Preferences page:

  1. Sign in to your myFTDNA account.
  2. At the top of the page, hover your cursor over myProjects, and click Manage myProjects from the drop-down menu.

    Click image for a closer look.

    You are directed to your Project Preferences page.

Note: The Group Projects displayed in the image below are for sample purposes only and are not actual groups.

Project Preferences - Your Projects

Click image for a closer look.

Frequently Asked Questions 

How do I set an access level for a Group Administrator?

To set an access level for a Group Administrator (or co-administrator):

  1. Go to your Project Preferences page.
  2. Click the Edit button that corresponds to the Group Project for which you want to set a Group Administrator’s access. The Group Administrator Access window is displayed.
  3.  In the Access column, click the drop-down list next to the Group Administrator and select one of the following access levels:
    - Minimal Required 
    - Limited  
    - Advanced 
  4. Click Accept. The access level has been set for that Group Administrator.

For more information on access levels, see the Group Administrator Access Levels and Permissions topic. 

How do I leave a Group Project?

To leave a Group Project:

  1. Go to your Project Preferences page.
  2. Click the Leave button that corresponds to the Group Project that you want to leave. The Leave Group Project window is displayed.

    Leave Group Project Window

    Click image for a closer look.

  3. Optional. In the Reason field, enter a brief description of why you are leaving the Group Project.
  4. Click Accept to leave the Group Project.
What information is shared with my Group Administrators?
The information shared with your Group Administrators depends on the access levels that you assign to your Group Administrators on your Project Preferences page.

For more information, see the Group Administrator Access Levels and Permissions Learning Center topic.

See also: