You may utilize the Members Subgrouping page to create, manage, and delete subgroups. You may also add and delete project members from subgroups. You can enter participants into one subgroup, and you can choose a background color that will be used to color code results on your public website. Ungrouped members will appear as “Unassigned Members.”

  • To create a subgroup:
    1. Click the Create Subgroup button.
    2. Fill in the fields. Be careful to specify if it is a Y-DNA or mtDNA subgroup.
    3. Click the Save button.

    Your subgroup has now been created.

  • To delete a subgroup:
    1. Click the Delete (Trash Can) icon next to the subgroup name.
    2. Click the OK button to confirm the deletion.
  • To add a member to a subgroup:
    1. Click the blue Select icon in the Manage column for the subgroup to which you wish to add members.
    2. Go to the Ungrouped Members section.
    3. Click the Add link next to each member whom you wish to add.
    4. Click the Return to Project Level Management button.
  • To delete a member from a subgroup:
    1. Click the blue Select icon in the Manage column for the subgroup to which you wish to remove members.
    2. Click the Remove link next to each member whom you wish to remove.
    3. Click the Return to Project Level Management button.
  • To edit a subgroup’s details:
    1. Click the Edit (Notepad) icon next to the subgroup’s name.
    2. Make your changes.
    3. Click the Save icon.
    4. Click the OK button to confirm the changes.

    Note: Multiple subgroups can use the same color.

  • To update the aggregate (min/max/mode) calculations for a subgroup on the Y-DNA Colorized report page:
    1. Click the Circle icon next to the subgroup’s name.

The Advanced Filters (ALPHA) provides filters for two fields; Haplogroup and SNP. These are available both when adding members to and when removing members from subgroups.

Note: If you are the co-administrator of a project, one of the project administrators may have limited your access to the Member Subgrouping page. Limited access means that you will only be able to view the current subgroups.